perpaster.blogg.se

2003 apple mac g5 update
2003 apple mac g5 update





2003 apple mac g5 update

Pull out the main CPU fan(s) and get a good jet of air through the CPU heatsink fins. Dirt build-up here can be significant and cause problems.

2003 apple mac g5 update

Pay attention to the Graphics card heatsink and HDD temp sensor area. ( Air cans are ‘ok-ish’ but pricey, we use a small compressor). If you have access to compressed air, take the machine outside ( you don’t want dust all over the house), and the best way is to blow the muck out (machine OFF of course) with a pressure of about 20 psi. Sudo periodic daily hit return and WAIT for cursorĥ) CLEAN your machine! The examples we get here are often choked with dust which causes significant overheating / over-temperature readings. Start the Terminal Utility (utilities folder)…. Reset-all and hit return ( machine now boots)Ĥ) Run Unix maintenance routines if you’re not in the habit of leaving the Mac turned on 24 hrs a day…. At the (white) command line screen, enter as per above post:. ( remove all peripheral kit except KBd & Mouse first)ġ) Repair your disc permissions via Disc UtilityĢ) Reset Parameter RAM ( command-option P R ) on startup until U hear the chimes 3 timesģ) Reset NVRAM in Open Firmware ( Command- Option O F ) on Startup. Things to do / check before wielding screwdrivers…. This is clearly demonstrated with the Apple Hardware Diagnostics CD / DVD which being a ‘bare-bones’ only system has the fans running like a wind tunnel as soon as you boot from the disc. However, if the Op Sys doesn’t load correctly within a set period of time, the ‘fail-safe’ condition is to turn the fans on hard. if an area gets hot the fan(s) speeds up.

#2003 apple mac g5 update full#

the G5 is full of temperature sensors that are monitored in software, which fan and how fast it turns happens due to sensor feedback….i.e. Just happened across this thread and thought the following may be useful to others and reflects some of the experiences with machines dropped off with us……įans on ‘high’…. I’ve put up a post on the Crowd Favorite blog about how I use WordPress and the FavePersonal theme (free!) to own my… I’ve been told that our on-boarding process can… When I first made my transition from front-end development into back-end development in ~2002, I had two things to learn: a…Īt Crowd Favorite we’re getting ready to hire several developers. Other Recent-ish Posts of Note on This Site UPDATE: Another tip I received was to unplug FireWire devices before running security updates, etc. I hope, hope, hope this solves my RAM problems going forward. No “folder with a question mark”, no tornado effect from the fans, just a happy boot. At the prompt, enter the following commands (you may want to write them down on a piece of paper before beginning this process), pressing the return key after each:Īfter doing this, the Mac started right up. To boot into Open Firmware, shut down your Mac, then start it up while holding down the Command, Option, O and F keys. Note: be sure to have all of your RAM installed before you do this. As I’ve come to expect from OWC, he listened patiently as I explained the situation, asked a few questions and had a potential solution for me: reset the NVRAM (non volitile RAM). Sure enough, I gave them a call and explained the situation to Andy. Now that I had a pattern, I thought the OWC tech guys might know what was going on. Sure enough, I saw the same little “folder with a question mark” briefly, then on to the gray Apple screen and a successful boot. On a hunch this morning, I removed only half of the RAM I’d installed and tried again. It seemed like it was recognizing the new RAM, then going on and booting up. Before going to the gray Apple screen, I got the little “folder with a question mark” briefly, then on to the gray Apple screen. I’d just put in new RAM earlier in the week and I noticed something a little odd on the first boot after adding the RAM in. The machine starts to boot, the screen stays black, and the fans come on full blast. (Sorry for the long title, trying to make it descriptive to help future searchers on this topic.)īackground: I’ve been having problems with the RAM in my PowerMac G5 Quad pretty much ever since I got it:







2003 apple mac g5 update